لا توجد مدرسة نهائية نهائية

 



دعم الأطفال بالطب
واحتياجات الصحة العقلية في المدرسة

 

فيس بوك انستقرام أو تويتر

 

نصائح من الشباب

الشباب 2

ومن المفارقات ، أن من أفضل الطرق التي يمكن للمدارس أن تساعد بها الأطفال والشباب الذين يعانون من ظروف صحية وعقلية هي الاستماع إلى ما سيقولونه!

يعرف الشباب ما هو مفيد وما هو غير مفيد. هم أيضًا مبدعون وملهمون في إيجاد الحلول. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تجد المدارس أنه عندما تعمل مع الشباب للتغلب على تحدياتهم ، تصبح المدرسة بعد ذلك مكانًا أكثر إيجابية لجميع طلابها ، وليس فقط أولئك الذين تم تحديدهم على أنهم لديهم احتياجات طبية أو صحية.

فيما يلي بعض المؤشرات من الشباب:

ما الذي يساعد (وما لا يساعد!)

ما هو غير مفيد:

  1. إذا كان الطلاب يتخلفون في الفصول الدراسية ويكافحون من أجل أداء واجباتهم المدرسية ، فهذا في بعض الأحيان يكون خارج سيطرتهم. في كثير من الأحيان لا يمكنهم ببساطة تحفيز أنفسهم بقول "حاول بجد" أو "كن أكثر تركيزًا".
  2. بالنسبة لبعض الشباب ، ليس من المفيد دائمًا أن تسألهم عما يشعرون به. بدلاً من ذلك ، خصص وقتًا لمراجعة كيف تسير الأمور بالنسبة لهم.
  3. لا تفترض أن الطفل أو الشاب لا يستطيع فعل شيء لمجرد احتياجاته الطبية. بدلاً من ذلك ، اسألهم واكتشف ؛ قد يكون كل ما يحتاجون إليه هو تعديل بسيط.

ما هو مفيد:

  1. عقد أسابيع التوعية في كل فصل دراسي. اطلب من الشباب الذين يشعرون بالراحة تجاه ذلك ، إلقاء محاضرات تتحدث عن ظروفهم الطبية / الصحية العقلية.
  2. اسمح للطلاب بإخبار المعلمين بالقدر الذي يسعدهم مشاركته.
  3. امنح الطلاب بطاقة وقت مستقطع واتركهم يجلسون بالقرب من الباب حتى يتمكنوا من المغادرة بسرية إذا أصبحت الأمور مربكة.
  4. السماح للطلاب بارتداء سماعات رأس تعمل على تقليل الضوضاء لتقليل التأثير الحسي.
  5. اجعل الشاب يشعر بالراحة قدر الإمكان من خلال المواعيد النهائية الطويلة.
  6. قلل الضغط على الاختبارات / الفصل الدراسي وقدم الدعم عند الحاجة
  7. حدد عضوًا مسمىًا من الموظفين يشعر الشاب بالراحة معه ، بحيث يكون لديهم شخص ما للتحدث معه إذا احتاجوا إلى ذلك.

خبرات الطلاب

  • لم تكن مدرستي مدركة تمامًا ...

    لم تكن المدرسة التي كنت أذهب إليها مدركة تمامًا لمشاكل الصحة العقلية ، على الرغم من تزايد حالات حدوثها بين الشباب والبالغين. كان هناك القليل من الدعم أو لا يوجد أي تعليم حول هذا الموضوع ووصمة عار بين كل من المعلمين والطلاب تجاه أولئك الذين كانوا في مواقف صعبة ، مما يجعل البيئة الاجتماعية الصعبة بالفعل أكثر صعوبة. كما يمكنك أن تتخيل ، هذا لم يفعل شيئًا لمساعدة صحتنا العقلية.

    كان هناك مستشار في المدرسة ، ومع ذلك ، غالبًا ما لم يحافظوا على مستوى السرية أو الحساسية المطلوب في الكثير من المواقف ، مما ترك الطلاب يعرفون أن هناك شيئًا خاطئًا ، ولكن لم يكن من المهم تغيير أي شيء ، مما جعل يشعرون بأنهم معزولون ، وغالبًا ما يؤدي إلى تفاقم الوضع.

    تُرك الطلاب يعانون في صمت ، معتقدين أنه لا يمكن لأحد أن يفهم ، وهو نهج عفا عليه الزمن على أقل تقدير. القلة الذين تمت إحالتهم إلى CAHMS تم القيام بذلك دون الحاجة الملحة أو التعاطف ، مما أدى إلى فترات انتظار لا تقل عن 3 أشهر.

    أقل ما كان يجب عليهم فعله هو التعامل مع هؤلاء الطلاب بعناية ودعم خلال وقت الانتظار هذا ، بدلاً من إجبارهم على الاستمرار في الامتحانات والواجبات المنزلية ، وتراكم الضغط ، على الرغم من مشاكلهم المتعلقة بالصحة العقلية أو المواقف المنزلية.

    الطالب F
  • كانت مدرستي مدركة جدًا ...

    كانت المدرسة التي التحقت بها مؤخرًا على دراية تامة بالصحة العقلية ، وعقدت أسابيع توعية في كل فصل دراسي ، وكان هناك أشخاص مرتاحون لها يعقدون محاضرات حول صحتهم العقلية ، والأهم من ذلك كله ، كان لديهم مستشاران يمكنك رؤيتهما في أي وقت ، واثنين من علماء النفس من مؤسسة خارجية يمكنك رؤيتها على النحو المطلوب.

    كان رأسي في العام متكيفًا للغاية ، وأخذ الوقت لمقابلتي كل صباح للاطمئنان على حالتي. لقد حصلت على إذن بمغادرة الدروس كلما احتجت إلى ذلك ، وتم إعطائي بطاقة يمكنني عرضها للمعلمين دون الحاجة إلى التحدث مما يسمح لي بالمغادرة دون أي ضجة. كنت أذهب إلى مكان هادئ ، أو المركز الصحي ، حتى أهدأ.

    تم إخبار أساتذتي فقط بالقدر الذي وافقت عليه ، حتى أن البعض حرص على أن أبقى جالسًا بالقرب من الباب. كانت لدي مناسبات قليلة جدًا عندما أخبروني أنني لا أستطيع الذهاب في رحلة لأنني كنت مخاطرة. سمح لي باستخدام سماعاتي وهاتفي في الممرات ، التقيت بطبيب نفسي مرة في الأسبوع لمدة ساعة ونصف. في النهاية ، كانت صداقة مضطربة وهذا هو سبب عدم تمكني من الحضور.

    تمت إحالتي إلى CAHMS بعد حوالي شهر من السقوط ، وتم فحصي مرتين ، وتم إعطائي حاصرات بيتا لإدارة التأثيرات الجسدية. ولكن حتى بعد الفحص ، تم إعطائي ثلاثة أشهر على الأقل لرؤية طبيب نفسي ، ولكن بعد أن تم تحديد مستقبلي في المدرسة على أنه غير مؤكد ، قالوا إنني بحاجة لرؤية خدمة CAHMS أخرى ، لتمديد وقت الانتظار. لقد أثرت الأسابيع التي أمضيتها وحدي في المنزل ، والآن أنا أبحث عن كليات جديدة ، واحدة على وجه الخصوص كانت داعمة للغاية حتى الآن ، لذلك آمل أن أستمر في رؤية CAHMS ومواصلة إدارة صحتي العقلية بطريقة إيجابية.

    الطالب الأول
  • مسؤولية المدارس ...

    أعتقد أن أحد المبادئ الأساسية التي يجب أن تفهمها المدارس هو أنه إذا تخلف الطلاب عن الفصول الدراسية ويكافحون من أجل أداء واجباتهم المدرسية ، فهذا في بعض الأحيان يكون خارج سيطرتهم ولا يمكن للطلاب ببساطة تحفيز أنفسهم على "بذل جهد أكبر" أو "أن يكونوا أكثر تركيزا ".

    أعتقد أنه من مسؤولية المدرسة أن تجعل الشاب يشعر بالراحة قدر الإمكان من خلال المواعيد النهائية الممتدة ، وضغط أقل على الامتحانات / اختبارات الفصل ومن خلال تقديم الدعم لهؤلاء الأفراد.

    ما وجدته مفيدًا بشكل خاص من المدارس هو مستوى الفهم الذي فهموه والأساليب العملية التي اتخذوها لضمان تجربة مدرسية أكثر متعة. وشمل ذلك فرصة إسقاط الموضوعات التي كنت أعاني منها حقًا ولا أستمتع بها.

    الطالب العاشر

الموارد

خبرة الأطفال والشباب الذين تتم رعايتهم في مجالات الصحة العقلية وصعوبات التعلم والتوحد في المستشفيات الداخلية

أجرى المعهد الوطني للبحوث الصحية مراجعة تبحث في تجربة الشباب في الحصول على الرعاية في مجموعة من أماكن المرضى الداخليين. وجاء في تلخيص التقرير ما يلي: "حددنا أربعة مواضيع عامة: جودة العلاقات بين الشباب وآبائهم / مقدمي الرعاية والموظفين ، ودرجة الحياة الطبيعية للتجربة ، واستخدام الممارسات التقييدية ، والنتائج السريرية الجيدة. والأربعة مترابطة ؛ والشاب هو من غير المرجح أن يشعروا بأنهم قد مروا بتجربة جيدة في الرعاية ما لم تكن جميع العوامل موجودة ".

يمكنك قراءة التقرير الكامل هنا:
www.evidence.nihr.ac.uk/themedreview/children-young-people-mental-health-learning-disability-autism-inpatient-settings/؟utm_source=social&utm_medium=evidence&utm_campaign=cyp

أبحاث الصحة العقلية للشباب (فبراير 2020) بتكليف من Healthwatch إنجلترا
بحث حديث لفهم المزيد عن تقديم خدمات الصحة العقلية للشباب (مع التركيز على أزمات الصحة العقلية) لمراجعة ما يصلح وما لا ينجح وما هي الخدمات الإضافية التي ستكون مفيدة.

تابعونا

تابعونا
الانضمام إلى محادثة
فيس بوك انستقرام أو تويتر

اشترك الآن

اشترك الآن
الاشتراك في موقعنا  النشرة الإخبارية

Helping Children With Medical And Mental Health Conditions Get The Best Out Of School

SIGNUP

Advice from young people

Paradoxically, one of the best ways that schools can help children and young people living with medical and mental health conditions is by listening to what they have to say!

Young people know what is helpful and what is unhelpful. They are also creative and inspirational in finding solutions. Additionally, schools find that when they work together with young people to overcome their challenges, the school then becomes a more positive place for all of their students, not just those identified as having medical or mental health needs.

Here are some pointers from young people:

intervent2 800

What helps (and what doesn't!)

What is not helpful:

  1. If students are falling behind in the classroom and struggling to do homework, it is sometimes out of their control. Often they cannot simply motivate themselves by saying “try harder” or “be more focussed”.
  2. For some young people, it is not always helpful to keep asking them how they are feeling. Instead, make time to review how things are going for them.
  3. Do not assume a child or young person cannot do something just because of their medical needs. Instead, ask them and find out; a simple adjustment might be all they need.

What is helpful:

  1. Hold awareness weeks every term. Ask young people that are comfortable with it, to give lectures talks about their own medical/mental health conditions.
  2. Let students tell teachers only as much as they are happy to share.
  3. Give students a time out card and let them sit near the door so that it is possible for them to leave discretely if things become overwhelming.
  4. Allow students to wear noise-reducing headphones to reduce sensory impact.
  5. Make the young person feel as comfortable as possible through extended deadlines.
  6. Reduce pressure on exams/class tests and offer support where needed
  7. Identify a named member of staff the young person feels comfortable with, so they have someone to talk to if they need to.

Student's experiences

  • My school wasn’t very aware...

    The school that I used to go to wasn’t very aware of mental health issues, despite the rising occurrences in young people and adults. There was little to no support, no education around the subject and a stigma amongst both teachers and students towards those who were in difficult situations, making the already difficult social environment even more challenging. As you could imagine, this did not do anything to help our mental health.

    There was a counsellor at the school, however, they often didn’t keep the level of confidentiality or sensitivity required in a lot of situations, leaving pupils knowing that there was something wrong, but it wasn’t important enough to change anything, making them feel like they were isolated, and often exacerbating the situation.

    Students were left to suffer in silence, thinking no one could understand, an approach that is outdated to say the least. The few who were referred to CAHMS were done so without the due urgency or empathy, leading to waiting times of at least 3 months.

    The least they should have done is treated those students with care and support during that waiting time, instead of forcing them to continue with exams and homework, piling on pressure, despite their issues with either mental health, or home situations.

    Student F
  • My school was very aware...

    The school that I last attended was extremely aware of mental health, holding awareness weeks every term, having people who were comfortable with it hold lectures on their own mental health, and most important of all, they had two counsellors you could see at any time, and two psychologists from an outside organisation that you could see as required.

    My head of year was extremely accommodating, taking the time to meet with me every morning to check on how I was doing. I was given permission to leave lessons whenever I needed to, given a card that I could show teachers without the need to speak allowing me to leave without any fuss. I would go to a quiet place, or the health centre, so I could calm down.

    My teachers were only told as much as I agreed they could be told, and some even made sure I could stay sitting near the door. I had only very few occasions when they told me I couldn’t go on a trip because I was a risk. I was allowed to use my headphones and phone in the corridors, I met with my psychologist once a week for an hour and a half. In the end, it was a troubled friendship that was the reason I became unable to attend.

    I was referred to CAHMS about a month after the falling out, and I was screened twice, and I was given beta blockers to manage the physical effects. But even after the screening, I was given a minimum of three months to see a psychiatrist, but after my future at the school was determined as uncertain, they said I needed to see another CAHMS service, extending the waiting time. Weeks spent alone at home took its toll and now I am looking at new colleges, one in particular has been extremely supportive so far, so I hope to continue seeing CAHMS and continue managing my mental health in a positive way.

    Student I
  • A schools responsibility...

    I believe that one of the most fundamental principles for schools to understand is that if students are falling behind in the classroom and struggling to do homework, it is sometimes out of their control and students cannot simply motivate themselves to “try harder” or “be more focussed”.

    I believe it is a schools responsibility to make the young person feel as comfortable as possible through extended deadlines, less pressure on exams/class tests and by offering support to these individuals.

    What I found particularly useful from schools was the level of understanding that they understood and practical approaches that they took to ensure a more pleasant schools experience. This included the opportunity to drop subjects that I was really struggling with and not enjoying.

    Student X

Contact Us

Contact Us
If you have any questions or if you would like us to come and present at your school/organisation please get in touch.

Read more

Keep In Touch

Keep In Touch
Sign up for our NEWSLETTER and we will keep you up to date with news and information twice a term.

Read more

Follow Us

Follow Us
Join the conversation on our social channels.
facebook instagram twitter

Our Policies

Our Policies
Here you'll find our policies and guidelines on using and interacting with Well at School.

Read more