لا توجد مدرسة نهائية نهائية

 



دعم الأطفال بالطب
واحتياجات الصحة العقلية في المدرسة

 

فيس بوك انستقرام أو تويتر

 

متلازمة التعب المزمن / أنا

تعتبر متلازمة التعب المزمن / التهاب الدماغ العضلي (CFS / ME) شائعة نسبيًا عند الأطفال ، حيث تؤثر على 1٪ على الأقل من المراهقين. ربما يكون السبب الأكبر للغياب طويل الأمد عن المدرسة.

سيباستيان مولر 52 أونسبلاش

دعم الطلاب             معلومات أخرى 

قد تشمل أعراض متلازمة التعب المزمن / التهاب الدماغ العضلي (CFS / ME) ما يلي:

  • التعب الشديد بعد الأنشطة اليومية العادية
  • الألم (بما في ذلك الصداع)
  • اضطراب النوم
  • توعك
  • الدوخة
  • غثيان
  • ضعف الأداء العقلي (ضعف التركيز ، والتشتت ، وصعوبة التركيز ، وضعف الذاكرة ، "تضباب الدماغ")

التقلب والاسترداد

عادة ما يكون لدى الأطفال والشباب المصابين بـ CFS / ME كمية محدودة فقط من سعة الطاقة. لذلك قد يظهرون بشكل جيد في يوم ما ويشاركون في الأنشطة. ومع ذلك ، فإن "إعادة شحن البطاريات" العادي ضعيف. إذا كان لديهم يوم نشط يتجاوز كمية الطاقة المتاحة ، فإن الشاب يواجه "استردادًا" خلال اليوم أو اليومين التاليين حيث قد يشعر "بالضيق" والقضاء عليه. هذا هو الوقت الذي من المحتمل أن يتغيبوا فيه عن المدرسة. يُعرف هذا أيضًا باسم دورة "Boom and Bust". قد يرى زملائه التلاميذ الأطفال فقط في أيامهم "النشطة" وبالتالي قد يكون من الصعب عليهم فهم تأثير الحالة. قد يشعر الشباب الذين يعانون من متلازمة التعب المزمن / متلازمة الإجهاد المزمن بأنهم مستبعدون ويُساء فهمهم وبالتالي يكونون أكثر عرضة للتوتر والمزاج السيء. 

نفقات الطاقة

تتضمن إدارة CFS / ME معرفة مقدار وقت نشاط الطاقة العالي الذي يمكن أن يقضيه الشاب كل يوم ، دون تجربة هذا المردود. هذا يسمى خط الأساس. هناك ثلاثة أنواع من إنفاق الطاقة: الجسدية والمعرفية والعاطفية.

  • يحدث إنفاق الطاقة المادية لأي أنشطة تنطوي على التنقل.
  • الطاقة المعرفية هي أي شيء له علاقة بمهام التفكير - فكل عمل الفصل هو نشاط إدراكي عالي الطاقة. من الأنشطة المعرفية الأخرى عالية الطاقة مشاهدة التلفزيون أو الدردشة مع الأصدقاء.
  • غالبًا ما يكون من السهل التغاضي عن الطاقة العاطفية. وهذا يشمل أي ضائقة عاطفية ، أو الصفوف ، أو القلق ، أو "الإفراط في التفكير" الذي يعاني منه الشاب. على الرغم من صعوبة التحكم في ذلك ، إلا أنه يجب أخذه بعين الاعتبار في كمية الطاقة المتاحة.

برامج العلاج

تم تصميم برامج علاج CFS / ME وفقًا لاحتياجات الفرد ، وقد تشمل:

تعديلات على دورة النوم والاستيقاظ

يمكن أن يؤدي تغيير دورات النوم والاستيقاظ إلى زيادة الأعراض على المدى القصير ، وقد يكون لذلك تأثير على حضورهم المدرسي.

تغيير أنماط النشاط

عادة ما يكون هناك انخفاض في مستويات النشاط في بداية العلاج. غالبًا ما يُنصح الطلاب بتقليل الحضور المخطط له في المدرسة على المدى القصير. من الأفضل الحضور لوقت أقل ، باستمرار ، بدلاً من محاولة الحضور بدوام كامل وتفويت أيام / أسابيع دراسية عشوائية بسبب الاسترداد. بمجرد أن يحققوا قدرًا يمكن إدارته من الحضور إلى المدرسة كل يوم ، دون التعرض لأعراض الاسترداد ، سيعملون بعد ذلك على إعادة بناء حضورهم بطريقة تدريجية ومستدامة.

دعم الطلاب المصابين بمتلازمة التعب المزمن

جايسون ليونج 479251 أونسبلاش

ستساعد الاقتراحات الواردة أدناه حقًا الأطفال والشباب الذين لديهم CFS / ME للوصول إلى إمكاناتهم الأكاديمية الكاملة.

استراحات الراحة خلال وقت المدرسة

يستفيد بعض الأطفال / الشباب المصابين بـ CFS / ME من فترات الراحة المنتظمة. يجب أن تكون فترات الراحة هذه في مكان هادئ ، ومن الناحية المثالية بعيدًا عن غرفة الصف. سيكون من المفيد جدولة فترات الراحة ، خاصة للأطفال الصغار. يفضل الطلاب الآخرون بطاقة المهلة الطبية التي يمكنهم استخدامها في الدروس إذا شعروا أنهم بحاجة إلى استراحة. يجب السماح لهم بمغادرة الفصل دون الحاجة إلى توضيح السبب. في مكان هادئ ، مثل المكتبة ، يجب أن يقضوا الوقت في القراءة أو الاستماع إلى الموسيقى أو القيام بنشاط راحة. من المتوقع أن يعودوا إلى الدرس بعد 10-15 دقيقة.

التركيز

لقد وجدنا أن الشباب الذين يعانون من CFS / ME يستفيدون من العمل لفترات لا تزيد عن 30-45 دقيقة ؛ قد يتمكن الطلاب المتأثرون بشدة من الحفاظ على التركيز لمدة 15 - 20 دقيقة فقط. غالبًا ما يكون لدى الطلاب حساسية متزايدة للأصوات اليومية ومن المرجح أن يشتت انتباههم بسهولة في بيئة الفصل الدراسي. قد يعاني الطلاب من "ضباب الدماغ" ، أي صعوبة في معالجة المعلومات - قد يكون من المفيد: تقديم تعليمات مكتوبة وأدوات مساعدة في الذاكرة ؛ تبسيط العمل (مثل إعطاء تلميذهم مهمة واحدة في كل مرة) ؛ عرض وقتًا إضافيًا للأنشطة وتقديم الدعم للكتابة (مثل الكتابة أو توفير أجهزة iPad للإملاء أو الكتابة أو توفير أنشطة بديلة للكتابة).

مواكبة الواجبات المدرسية

بسبب التغيب عن المدرسة ومشاكل التركيز ، قد يتخلف الشباب الذين يعانون من CFS / ME في أداء واجباتهم المدرسية. قد يعانون أيضًا من التوتر والقلق نتيجة التخلف عن الركب. قد يكون من المفيد مساعدتهم في تحديد أولويات عملهم المدرسي والمهارات والمهام والواجبات المنزلية الأكثر أهمية لإكمالها.

الامتحانات

يستفيد الشباب في CFS / ME من السماح لهم بإجراء الاختبارات في غرفة بمفردهم ، أو مع عدد قليل من الطلاب الآخرين. يجب السماح لهم بالنهوض والتحرك في فترات راحة محددة. بالنسبة للطلاب الذين يجرون الاختبارات العامة ، يجب تقديم طلب للحصول على ترتيبات الوصول والتعديلات المعقولة.

المزاج و / القلق

الشباب المصابون بـ CFS / ME هم أكثر عرضة للإصابة بالاكتئاب و / أو القلق ، وخاصة القلق الاجتماعي والقلق العام. قد يحتاجون إلى دعم إضافي للصحة العقلية في المدرسة وقد يحتاجون إلى توجيههم لطلب المساعدة في صحتهم العقلية خارج المدرسة ، بما في ذلك عن طريق الممارس العام أو الخدمات المتخصصة.

صداقات

يمكن أن يكون لـ CFS / ME تأثير على الصداقات. قد يستفيد الشباب المصابون بـ CFS / من الحفاظ على الشعور بالانتماء والاتصال بفصلهم الدراسي أثناء الغياب. يمكن تحقيق ذلك من خلال أشياء مثل تنظيم الاتصال من زملاء الدراسة (مثل إرسال بطاقة).

معلومات إضافية عن المدارس الابتدائية

يمكن تشخيص إصابة الأطفال الذين تقل أعمارهم عن 12 عامًا بـ CFS / ME ، على الرغم من أنها أقل شيوعًا في هذه الفئة العمرية الأصغر. يحتاج الأطفال الأصغر سنًا إلى مزيد من الدعم لمساعدتهم على اتباع الإرشادات الخاصة بإدارة نشاطهم. قد يكون من المفيد لمعلمي المدارس الابتدائية مقابلة أولياء الأمور لمناقشة خطة الدعم. بالإضافة إلى الإرشادات المذكورة أعلاه ، قد يكون من المفيد مراعاة ما يلي:

  • الأطفال الأصغر سنًا الذين يعانون من متلازمة التعب المزمن / متلازمة التعب المزمن هم أكثر عرضة لمشاكل القلق. يمكن أن يساعد في ذلك استكشاف مخاوفهم وتشجيعهم على مواجهة مخاوفهم تدريجياً ، مع الدعم المناسب.
  • غالبًا ما يجد الأطفال الصغار صعوبة في التعبير عن أفكارهم ومشاعرهم حول صحتهم وعافيتهم. وجد بعض المعلمين أنه من المفيد أن يكون لديك نظام تسجيل وصول ، وقد تكون وسائل الاتصال مثل بطاقات المشاعر مفيدة.
  • أثناء فترات الراحة ، كان بعض المعلمين قادرين على ترتيب مساحات تحفيز هادئة ومنخفضة مع أدوات الراحة مثل أكياس القماش والوسائد.
  • قد يكون من المفيد إعادة صياغة القيود والقيود المفروضة على الطفل. على سبيل المثال ، لن يتمكن بعض الأطفال من الانضمام إلى أنشطة مثل دروس التربية البدنية واستراحات اللعب. يمكن إعطاء هؤلاء الأطفال "أدوارًا" بديلة منخفضة الطاقة مثل تعيين موظفي مكتب الاستقبال بالمدرسة.
  • قال بعض معلمي المدارس الابتدائية إنه من المفيد التحدث إلى صفوفهم لزيادة الوعي بحالة صحية معينة ولتعزيز المواقف الداعمة والمتعاطفة. نوصي بالتحدث إلى تلميذك وعائلته أولاً قبل مناقشة CFS / ME مع صفك. 

مزيد من المعلومات

موارد CFS / ME:

  • أنتجت الخدمة المتخصصة في طب الأطفال CFS / ME ومقرها في Royal United Hospitals Bath NHS Foundation Trust سلسلة من المنشورات ، والتي يمكن العثور عليها هنا: www.ruh.nhs.uk/patients/services/clinical_depts/paediatric_cfs_me/leaflets.asp؟menu_id=1
  • "التغلب على التعب المزمن لدى الشباب" بقلم كاثرين رايمز وترودي شلدر 

CFS / ME والمزاج:

قد تكون هذه الكتب مفيدة للمعلمين ، لأنها توفر بعض الاستراتيجيات العملية لدعم الشباب الذين يعانون من صعوبات مزاجية:

  • "التغلب على مخاوف طفلك وقلقه: دليل للمساعدة الذاتية باستخدام تقنيات السلوك المعرفي" ، كاثي كريسويل ولوسي ويليتس
  •  "اكتئاب المراهقين: دليل العلاج المعرفي السلوكي للآباء" ، مونيكا باركنسون وشيرلي رينولدز

شكراً لك

شكراً جزيلاً للبروفيسور إستر كراولي ، والدكتورة روكسان بارسلو ، والدكتورة ماريا لودز ، وأمبرلي بريغدن في مركز صحة الطفل الأكاديمية ، كلية بريستول الطبية www.bristol.ac.uk/academic-child-health لكتابة هذا القسم لنا.

تابعونا

تابعونا
الانضمام إلى محادثة
فيس بوك انستقرام أو تويتر

اشترك الآن

اشترك الآن
الاشتراك في موقعنا  النشرة الإخبارية

Helping Children With Medical And Mental Health Conditions Get The Best Out Of School

CHRONIC FATIGUE SYNDROME/ME

Chronic Fatigue Syndrome/Myalgic Encephalitis (CFS/ME) is relatively common in children, affecting at least 1% of teenagers. It is probably the largest cause of long-term absence from school.

sebastian muller 52 unsplash

SUPPORTING STUDENTS             MORE INFORMATION 

Chronic Fatigue Syndrome/Myalgic Encephalitis (CFS/ME) symptoms may include:

  • Extreme fatigue after normal everyday activities
  • Pain (including headaches)
  • Sleep disturbance
  • Malaise
  • Dizziness
  • Nausea
  • Impaired mental functioning (poor concentration, distractibility, difficulty focusing, poor memory, ‘brain fogging’)

Fluctuation and Payback

Children and young people with CFS/ME usually have only a finite amount of energy capacity. Therefore they may appear ‘well’ on one day and take part in activities. However, the normal “recharging of batteries” is impaired. If they have an active day that exceeds the amount of available energy, then the young person experiences a ‘payback’ over the next day or two where they may feel ‘fluey’ and wiped out. This is when they are likely to miss school. This is also known as a “Boom and Bust” cycle. Fellow pupils may only see children on their ‘active’ days and therefore it may be harder for them to understand the impact of the condition. Young people with CFS/ME may feel left out and misunderstood and therefore be more likely to experience anxiety and low mood. 

Energy Expenditure

The management of CFS/ME involves finding out how much high energy activity time a young person can spend every day, without experiencing this payback. This is called the baseline. There are three types of energy expenditure: physical, cognitive and emotional.

  • Physical energy expenditure occurs for any activities involving mobility.
  • Cognitive energy is anything to do with thinking tasks – all classroom work is high energy cognitive activity. Other high energy cognitive activity would be watching television or chatting with friends.
  • Emotional energy is often easy to overlook. This includes any emotional distress, rows, anxiety and ‘over-thinking’ the young person experiences. Although this can be difficult to control, it needs to be factored into the available amount of energy.

Treatment Programmes

CFS/ME treatment programmes are tailored to the individual’s needs, and may include:

Adjustments to sleep-wake cycle

Changing sleep-wake cycles can lead to an increase in symptoms in the short term, and this may well have an impact on their school attendance.

Changing activity patterns

There is usually a reduction in levels of activity at the start of treatment. Students will often be advised to reduce their planned school attendance in the short term. It is better to attend for less time, consistently, rather than trying to attend full time and missing random school days/weeks due to payback. Once they are achieving a manageable amount of school attendance every day, without experiencing payback symptoms, they will then work on building their attendance back up in a gradual and sustainable way.

Supporting students with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome

jason leung 479251 unsplash

The suggestions below will really help children and young people with CFS/ME to reach their full academic potential.

Rest breaks during school time

Some children/young people with CFS/ME benefit from regular rest breaks. These breaks should be in a quiet place, ideally away from the classroom. It would be helpful if breaks could be scheduled, especially for younger children. Other students prefer a medical timeout card which they can use in lessons if they feel they need a break. They should be allowed to leave the classroom without having to explain why. In a quiet space, e.g. the library, they should spend the time reading or listening to music or doing a downtime activity. They can be expected to return to the lesson after 10-15 minutes.

Concentration

We have found that young people with CFS/ME benefit from working in chunks of no more than 30-45 minutes; severely affected students may only be able to sustain concentration for 15 – 20 minutes. Students often have increased sensitivity to everyday sounds and are likely to be more easily distracted in the classroom environment. Students may experience ‘brain fog’ i.e. difficulty processing information – it can be helpful to: provide written instructions and memory aids; simplify work (e.g. giving their pupil one task at a time); offer extra time for activities and provide support with writing (e.g. scribing, providing iPads for dictation or typing or providing alternative activities to writing).

Keeping up with schoolwork

Due to missing school and problems concentrating, young people with CFS/ME may fall behind with their schoolwork. They may also experience stress and anxiety as a result of falling behind. It may be helpful to help them prioritise their schoolwork and the skills, tasks and homework that is most important to complete.

Exams

Young people with CFS/ME benefit from being allowed to sit exams in a room on their own, or with a few other students. They should be allowed to get up and move around for timed rest breaks. For those students taking public exams a request should be made for access arrangements and reasonable adjustments.

Mood &/anxiety

Young people with CFS/ME are more likely to experience depression and/or anxiety, particularly social anxiety and generalised anxiety. They may need additional mental health support in school and school may need to signpost them to seeking help with their mental health outside of school, including via their GP or specialist services.

Friendships

CFS/ME can have an impact on friendships. Young people with CFS/may benefit from maintaining a sense of belonging and connection with their class during absences. This could be achieve from things such as organising contact from classmates (e.g. sending a card).

Additional information for primary schools

Children under the age of 12 can be diagnosed with CFS/ME, although it is less common in this younger age group. Younger children need more support to help them follow the guidance on managing their activity. It may be helpful for primary school teachers to meet with parents to discuss a plan of support. In addition to the above guidance, the following may be helpful to consider:

  • Younger children with CFS/ME are more likely to experience problems with anxiety. Exploring their worries and encouraging them to gradually face their fears, with appropriate support, can help with this.
  • Often younger children find it difficult to express their thoughts and feelings about their health and wellbeing. Some teachers have found it helpful to have a check-in system, and communication aids such as emotion cards may be beneficial.
  • During rest breaks, some teachers have been able to arrange quiet, low stimulus spaces with comfort items such as beanbags and cushions.
  • It can be helpful to reframe restrictions and limitations on the child. For example, some children will be unable to join activities like P.E lessons and play breaks. These children could be given alternative low energy “roles” such as staffing the school’s reception desk.
  • Some primary school teachers have said that it is helpful to speak to their class to raise awareness about a particular health condition and to promote supportive and empathetic attitudes. We would recommend speaking to your pupil and their family first before discussing CFS/ME with your class. 

More Information

CFS/ME resources:

CFS/ME and Mood:

These books may be helpful for teachers, as they provide some practical strategies for supporting young people with mood difficulties:

  • “Overcoming Your Child's Fears and Worries: A Self-help Guide Using Cognitive Behavioral Techniques”, Cathy Creswell and Lucy Willetts
  •  “Teenage Depression: A CBT Guide For Parents”, Monika Parkinson and Shirley Reynolds

Thank you

Many thanks to Prof. Esther Crawley, Dr Roxanne Parslow, Dr Maria Loades and Amberly Brigden at the Centre for Academic Child Health, Bristol Medical School www.bristol.ac.uk/academic-child-health for writing this section for us.

Contact Us

Contact Us
If you have any questions or if you would like us to come and present at your school/organisation please get in touch.

Read more

Keep In Touch

Keep In Touch
Sign up for our NEWSLETTER and we will keep you up to date with news and information twice a term.

Read more

Follow Us

Follow Us
Join the conversation on our social channels.
facebook instagram twitter

Our Policies

Our Policies
Here you'll find our policies and guidelines on using and interacting with Well at School.

Read more